Influential Search Engines of Our Nation

search-engine-history

The internet and World Wide Web have become a prime factor in the development of our society. It is because of the web accessibility from search engines, that all people may be able to access information easily and conveniently. Web accessibility is the practice of creating websites that can be usable for everyone with zero internet experience. The internet does not only provide entertainment, but also provides valuable and interchangeable information to the user. However search engines are the key factors making our internet accessibility useful and fun. Web browsers impact everyone, whether it be working class individuals coming home after the job or famous politicians who are looking for more support through some websites such as Facebook, twitter, or even Google plus, because these browsers help give the user clarity, background and user friendly steps when they search for information web. Google Chrome and Bing have become the largest and widely used search browsers of our time, together honing over 1-billion users around the world, and because of their popularity I wanted to shed some light on the different resourceful backgrounds that make both of these search engines quite unique to our Nation.
The google search engine or “Chrome”, is a prominent web browser that has been around for more than a decade, and is one of the most widely used programs around the nation. It has its basic similarities to Internet explorer, Safari for Macintosh, Firefox,–other search engines out there that are a little less popular(Battle of the Browsers[photograph],2014). It’s no doubt Google is a very successful company, and the following will explain why. According to the Digital trends website, google chrome offers the leanest address bar configuration as well as a useful double bar layout that makes it easy to move up and down pages, as well as refreshing the page(Digital Trends,2014). Chrome also has the capability of remembering characters that one has already searched, and allows the user to save or delete websites from the search that may be deemed invaluable. The creators of chrome also revise and update their google software daily, which may be a factor toward Google’s increasing search accuracy and more impressed users. 313.3 million People live in the US. With 110 million people using the google search engine each month within a year, would mean our entire population has searched on Google chrome at least once.

bing-homepage_1412049c
Bing is a particularly different website that gets a lot more access to social media websites like Facebook and twitter than Google because of its partnership. This makes social integration within this browser much stronger whereas Google would have to rely on its own Google Plus social media website only. Social integration means different thing for different people, but here are two examples:re’s some of the common meanings of the term social media integration:

Facebook like button for the group’s Facebook page (without leaving the site)
Twitter auto-follow button for the group’s Twitter account (without leaving the site).
Bing too provides a well-developed search engine that primes itself excessively to the needs of its user. The prime uniqueness of Bing is that it uses its connections with other social media platforms to reward its user. With a Microsoft account, those who use Bing are able to obtain real items through a point system that usually just requires the user to use the Bing website in some fashion. While searching for things on Bings engine, they will offer the user a set of tasks such as searching for a particular link or typing their first search to gain points that will automatically enter the user into a raffle to receive some of the following: Computers, television sets and or video games. Bing’s quick searches and prize offers may be the prime reason why Bing acquires approximately 300 million users monthly. According to the Entrepreneur, Bing’s search results pages have a more creative search appeal toward its audience.

Bing’s search result actually look like what Google’s used to, before Google cluttered its listings with “+1” buttons, social annotations which many Google users have pointed out to be pointless(Entrepreneur. 2012). It has recently been updated and google no longer uses such a feature. Bing map visuals have also begun to rival Google maps features. According to the Geo technological Research group in Maynooth Ireland, they have done intensive research on both map software, and have concluded that Bing has fewer map errors than Google Maps (NUIM.2011). Although Bing does not seem to measure up to google on this graph, it is still one of the most widely used web browsers that is still growing rivaling the standards of Google Chrome. Regardless of popularity differences, these two search engines have both greatly influenced our society’s way of applying and acquiring useful information.It’s incredible to believe that over 90% of our entire population has already been greatly affected by just two well made search engines. But I believe this is because of the reliability of both engines. Google is infamous for finding almost exactly what the user wants using only a few keywords and without exploiting the use of tabs. The user’s search space is clean, concise and they have already received the answers from their search. The Bing search engine does not respond the way. Instead of providing the user with a plethora of extremely relevant information from their search, it tries to first sell you a product, distract from the main search and once links appear for the user, Bing has a tendency to completely redirect the user to other pages not quite pertinent to the search, using up more tabs that were not necessary to begin with. However, this is not such an terrible feature because the gimmick Bing has is to allow the user to build points in order to enter into various raffles to win very expensive items such as television sets, laptops, or gaming systems. Google on the other hand does not run on gimmicks, and has become quite a success without it.
How do you feel about these search engines? Is one most appealing that’ll the other and can you explain why? In my opinion, Google has become the least confusing most adaptable search engine for all parties and should definitely be used over Bing for quick results, but Bing has another advantage for gift giving by allowing the user to search and also earn medals and raffle points which Google does not offer. Tell me your opinions.

References

Kumar, A.J (2012 Oct. 13) Bing v.s Google:Which Search Engine is best? Retrieved from: http://www.entrepreneur.com/blog/224639

Lopez, Peter (2010)Battle of the Browsers[photograph]. Retrieved from: http://petermlopez.hubpages.com/hub/Browsers-Compared-A-Review-of-Google-Chrome#lastcomment

Widder, Brandon (2013 Mar. 31 ) Digital Trends:Battle of the best Browsers: IE vs. Chrome vs. Firefox vs. Safari. Retrieved from: http://www.digitaltrends.com/web/the-best-browser-internet-explorer-vs-chrome-vs-firefox-vs-safari/#!Awujl

Cipeluch, Blazej. Jacob, Ricky.Winstanley, Adam (2010)Comparison of the accuracy of OpenStreetMap for Ireland with Google Maps and Bing Maps. Retrieved from http://eprints.nuim.ie/2476/1/Accuracy2010-Ciepluch-Submitted.pdf

7 thoughts on “Influential Search Engines of Our Nation

  1. I have to admit that I am a Google fan myself. I have used it for everything for as long as I remember, it’s easy to use, doesn’t change much, and I just really trust the Google brand. I think Bing is kind of shady…LOL!! I have also been using the Facebook search button more to search for stories I see but can’t find after the fact.

    Like

    1. I see what you mean about Bing’s shadiness. I give it major side eye.
      side eye
      But is it just because it’s relatively new, and Google is so well established? And why do we even trust Google so much? It can’t just be their company motto, “don’t be evil.”

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This was an interesting topic and I like the questions you pose. How do you feel about search engines? Which do you prefer and why? What’s most interesting to me about search engines, particularly Google, is that their presence is almost subconscious. It even seems that people prefer not to notice it.

    I think what makes Google notable among search engines is its “omnipresence,” For years it’ been the go-to, to the point that the company name has become a verb. This is clever because of the intimacy created between the user and the interface. Go ahead and type anything you’re thinking, Google will understand.

    Like

  3. Personally, I like Google Chrome. I can easily type in what I am looking for and get what I want without having to search the next page. I don’t like Bing or the other ones-maybe it is my imagination but it seems as if I get more spam and less of what I am looking for on other search engines iike Bing. My second fave is Mozilla Firefox. The most awful search engine, in my opinion, is Internet Explorer. I detest Internet Explorer. It is slow and doesn’t work well at all. The main disadvantage to all search engines is that they track what I am looking for and they keep a download history. Other than that, Google is my fave. I am thinking about searching on DuckDuckGo, which is a search engine that does not track you or keep your download history.

    Like

  4. I too will admit to heavily relying on Google for like 90% of my daily phone usage. I don’t give a moment’s thought when I search something, but without Google I’d be screwed. But I can’t say much for Bing. You explained that they have more partnerships with Facebook and Twitter, and I don’t have twitter.

    Like

  5. Until recently, SEO was a term I had heard before, but had never explored it too deeply. I found it confusing and still do. The more I learn in the rhetoric and writing department, though, the more I realize how important it is.

    Personally, I use Google Chrome and prefer it over other search engines because it is simple. Regarding Bing, if a search engine feels the need to flash gimmicks across their home page, what is being said about the quality of the actual search engine?

    Then again, I tend to be a hard-core skeptic to begin with; the more bells and whistles attached to something, the more skeptical I become–what are they doing that they are trying too hard to hide/distract me from? (I have learned the hard way, however, that on the WWW the direct, simple approach does not usually mean that something is more ethical!)

    As far as usability goes, Bing drives me nuts; the site tends to be too busy and distracting for my taste and makes using it more complicated than necessary. After all, I am looking to find information, not to be entertained. Too much distraction is never a good thing for my tenuous grip on staying focused!

    Like

  6. I loathe Bing. I don’t like the layout or how it “searches,” but it may be because I’m used to Google. Similarly, I don’t like Yahoo!. I think Google’s more streamlined “here’s your information, take it or leave it” helps me. Also, and I just learned this a couple weeks ago–– when the wifi goes out and you can’t use Google, the dinosaur that pops up allows you to play a game while you wait for the wifi to return. My students taught me this while our wifi was (and still is) going in and out pretty often. It made me incredibly happy for about five minutes, and then, well, I was just ready to continue writing. I don’t think Bing has that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

